Posted in favourite things, haiku, photos, poetry, quiet moments

new beginning

The day dawned, lightness

grew, the sun’s light muffled by

cloud. New beginning.

~ sld

. . . . . . .

I was able to slip out of the house before anyone else was awake. I love that. To be quiet, to move into the new day in silence. Just observe, savour, no words.

This is the view that greeted me at the shore . . .

Someone had decorated the north pole* with some daisies.

I lingered at my favourite little dock, thinking about the coming year, writing my new year’s revolutions**, the Jason Mraz song, “I’m Yours,” playing over in my mind.

The official list for this year:

• Grow 10 years younger

• Become whole in body, soul and spirit

• Complete the first draft of my novel

• Do nothing more often

I was also writing answers to the questions posed in a video that Dave @ Lead.Learn.Live posted a few days ago titled, “Thought Moments.” I thought it would be interesting to explore and answer the questions for myself. I’ll save that for another post, though.

The clouds were deciding whether or not to start to rain, so I continued on with my walk. The sun came out to say “hello” for a few moments.

I think I saw the buddies again over by the labyrinth, near the hotel. And an egret took to flight.

Later in the afternoon, we loaded our bikes onto the car and headed for the Bob Jones trail near Avila Beach. We had a wonderful ride. Here are a few photos from our outing . . .

Afterwards, we drove into San Luis Obispo to have dinner at Enzo’s East Coast Eatery. We’d heard that they had great vegan pizzas. From the parking lot, we walked through the famous Gumball Alley, staying close to the middle of the sidewalk. It’s amazing, but ick!

What we’d heard about Enzo’s was right. Delicious!

"pizza - enzos010113" ~ sld

A little ambiance . . .

It was a good day. A great start to a new year.

And a very happy New Year to you!

. . . . . . .

* the north pole — so named because of the expotitions my son and I had together with Winnie-the-Pooh and Piglet when he was small. (Winnie-the-Pooh, “In Which Christopher Robin Leads an Expotition to the North Pole,” by A.A. Milne)

** Revolution not Resolution — a great series of posts from Nicholas Bate.

11 thoughts on “new beginning

      1. Blogging means what is write is a public affair and the first rules I imposed on myself before opening a blog was to keep my privacy intact. I don’t own any of the communication facilities available today either. But I nevertheless wanted to share out there my works, impressions and ideas about life and it’s wisdom learned along its way.
        I truly appreciate your honesty and openness and enjoy everyone of your posts. OA stands for over eaters anonymous but I sincerely hope my anonymity won’t come in the way of communicating with the special people I have met until today :)

        Like

        1. I understand and I’m sorry if my request caused you any distress. I always enjoy your visits and appreciate your comments. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

          Like

Leave a Reply

