Posted in art, quotes

from my “Notes to self” archives

definition source: Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary

Note to self #1: Always, always be completely prepared before making a phone call in case there’s a need to leave a message. This gives the best chance for clarity, conciseness, and avoiding the onset of blithering as I try to keep the answering machine from ending the recording before I’ve figured out exactly how to say what I want to say.

Cheeeze AND crackers!

Note to self #2: Don’t worry about it so much. And maybe even laugh? Besides, it’s really not that serious — it wasn’t like I decided to practice “winging it” for a call to a client. I was calling a friend, after all. Uh oh, correction, she is also a client. Ummm, have to think of another reason . . . uh . . .she likes me? . . . and she’s one of those lovely foibles-forgivers. There.

In the midst of all that fascinating dialogue, I read David Kanigan’s post on Lead.Learn.Live., titled “Imperfection is not our personal problem…” where he quoted Tara Brach’s post by the same title.

“…. imperfection is not our personal problem — it is a natural part of existing. We all get caught in wants and fears, we all act unconsciously, we all get diseased and deteriorate. Yet, when we relax about imperfection, we no longer lose our life moments in the pursuit of being different and in the fear of what is wrong.

The renowned seventh-century Zen master Seng-tsan taught that true freedom is being “without anxiety about imperfection.” This means accepting our human existence and all of life as it is.”

Sage advice indeed. Encouraging. Comforting. Something to remember.

My worries over sounding foolish having faded, I’m filled with renewed admiration for those who are at ease when conversing over the phone, those who can hear their own thoughts, process them, and speak intelligibly at the same time. You amaze me.

2 thoughts on “from my “Notes to self” archives

Leave a Reply

