Posted in favourite things, Music, photos, quiet moments

Enjoying Some Candy

During White Caps rehearsal this morning, we had a special treat. When we played a medley of Beach Boys hits, we had the chance to play Wipe Out along with a drummer that has actually toured with the Beach Boys! Fernie Monreal is our guest drummer for an upcoming concert in Cayucos. Wow!

Listening to him play was 100% pure ear candy. I’d fortuitously dropped my camera in my purse, so I was able to snap a photo of him — Fernie’s on the right, next to my husband.

Afterwards, we had just enough time to come home, have a bite to eat, and change, before heading over to the Bayside Care Center to play in a Joyful Noise concert.

A pretty busy day, but I was still able to have a leisurely walk later this afternoon and watch the next tutorial on my Five Pencil Method Core Exercises DVD, while my fellows went into town (San Luis Obispo) to the music store for some new reeds and a clarinet stand (for the leetle fellow).

One of my challenges for tomorrow is drawing a sphere using all 5 pencils (4H, 2H, HB, 2B, and 4B) to create smooth, 3-dimensional contours. No tortillon, no burnishing, only layers of pencil strokes. When I have one I like well enough, I’ll post it.

In the meantime, here are some photos from my walk this afternoon . . .

Leave a Reply

