Posted in Music

My Cajun Piano

We rented a U-Haul truck on Friday. Then on Saturday made the not-very-far journey to Morro Bay to pick up a baby grand piano and bring it home. It’s not pretty. That is, it’s not pretty yet. Somewhere along the line it was moved rather roughly, so there are scratches and dings. And it’s been through a fire. It’s blackened in spots and has quite a bit of soot in and around it that needs to be cleaned. Hence the $75 asking price. Seems like it just might be a good piano, though, with some TLC.

If the number on the underside is the serial number, then it looks like this piano was manufactured by Brambach some time between 1925 and 1930. I did some cleaning yesterday with my fine steel wool and a little Howard Restor-A-Finish. Very encouraging. The blackness is coming off nicely where I tested it.

Today I’m planning to vacuum the insides and see how much soot I can extract that way. And I’m hoping to talk to a piano teacher down the street (who will hopefully soon be my piano teacher) to see who he might recommend for tuning and needed repairs.

Here’s a picture of my Cajun Baby Grand . . .

One thought on “My Cajun Piano

Leave a Reply

